Ahead of the Euro 2021, England manager Gareth Southgate has left Chelsea pair Tammy Abraham and Fikayo Tomori out of his 33-man provisional squad.

England boss Gareth Southgate has named 33 players – including another player of Nigerian descent, Bukayo Saka – and will submit his final 26-man squad on Tuesday, 1 June.

Tomori’s exclusion came as a surprise after putting up a great form in the Serie A with AC Milan. However, Abraham’s snub is simply a result of lack of game time under current Chelsea boss Thomas Tuchel who preferred German striker Timo Werner.

England’s provisional 33-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Man Utd), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordon Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheff Utd)

Defenders: John Stones (Man City), Luke Shaw (Man Utd), Harry Maguire (Man Utd), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Kyle Walker (Man City), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Reece James (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Ben White (Brighton)

Midfielders: Mason Mount (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Phil Foden (Man City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Jesse Lingard (Man Utd), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Man Utd), Raheem Sterling (Man City), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Mason Greenwood (Man Utd), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *