Nigerian duo Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala have been shortlisted for the 2023 Ballon d’Or award in the men’s and women’s categories, The PUNCH reports.

The prestigious ceremony will take place in Paris on October 30.

Both players enjoyed an incredible year for club and country.

Osimhen currently the leading scorer in the African Cup of Nations qualifying series with seven goals, becomes the first male Nigerian footballer to be shortlisted for the award in 24 years.

Former captain Nwankwo Kanu was the last Nigerian star to be shortlisted for the award in 1999.

The 24-year-old made history as the first African to be crowned Capocannoniere last season in the Serie A and the Napoli striker is the first player from the continent to achieve the feat winning the Scudetto after scoring 26 Serie A goals (31 goals in 39 games across all competitions).

Oshoala on her part, earned her consecutive nomination after a successful campaign with Barcelona Femeni where she won the Women’s Champions League.

Last year, she became the first African to be nominated for the Women’s Ballon d’Or and this time, she is the only African player listed in the women’s category.

The 28-year-old was the top scorer for Barcelona Femeni last season after she notched 26 goals (21 league goals and five in the Women’s Champions League) in all competitions.

She was also instrumental in Barcelona Femeni winning the league title and the Women’s Champions League last season.

Meanwhile, Lionel Messi is the favourite to win a record eighth title after captaining Argentina to World Cup glory in Qatar. However, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland are both likely to be strong contenders considering their impressive form in the year under review.

Other players shortlisted are Bukayo Saka, Martin Odegaard, Mohamed Salah, Harry Kane, Kevin de Bruyne, Rodri, Ruben Dias, Bernardo Silva, Julian Alvarez and Ilkay Gundogan.

Others are Nicolo Barella, Jude Bellingham, Karim Benzema, Yassine Bounou, Antoine Griezmann, Josko Gvardiol, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Robert Lewandowski, Randal Muani, Emiliano Martinez, Lautaro Martinez, Kim Min-Kae, Luka Modric, Jamal Musiala, Andre Onana and Vinicius Jr.

The 20 nominees for the Women’s Ballon d’Or Award are Aitana Bonmati, Millie Bright, Linda Caicedo, Olga Carmona, Rachel Daly, Debinha, Mary Earps, Patricia Guijarro, Yui Hasegawa, Amanda Ilestedt, Diani Kadidiatou, Sam Kerr, Mapi Leon, Katie McCabe, Hinata Miyazawa.

Lena Oberdorf, Asisat Oshoala, Ewa Pajor, Salma Paralluelo, Alexandra Popp, Hayley Raso, Alba Redondo, Guro Reiten, Wendie Renard, Fridolina Rolfo, Jill Roord, Khadija Shaw, Sophia Smith, Georgia Stanway and Daphne Van Domselaar are the other players on the shortlist.

Bellingham is in the mix for the main prize and U-21 award, named the Kopa Trophy, as is Manchester United’s new boy Rasmus Hojlund after his impressive season with Atalanta last time out.

Arsenal stopper Aaron Ramsdale has been nominated for the Yashin Trophy, given to the best goalkeeper over the course of the year. Ramsdale is joined by another of United’s summer signings, Andre Onana, Manchester City’s Ederson and World Cup winner Emiliano Martinez.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *